Public Interest Law Fellowship History

History of the Public Interest Law Fellowship

In 2014, the New Orleans Bar Association (NOBA) and New Orleans Bar Foundation (NOBF) created the prestigious Public Interest Law Fellowship to recognize lawyers who serve the legal needs of the less fortunate, in the highest ideals of the legal profession. The first 2-year Fellowship was awarded to Laura W. Malveau, whose work focuses on domestic violence and the accompanying family law issues through the New Orleans office of Southeast Louisiana Legal Services

With Special Appreciation to the Visionary Donors to the Fellowship 

Anonymous Donors

Nancy & Jesse R. Adams, Jr.
NOBA President, 2004-05

Judge Carl J. Barbier
NOBA President, 2006-07

Judy Y. Barrasso & Brent B. Barriere
NOBA Board of Directors

William A. Below
In memory of Mark A. Moreau

Claire & Jack C. Benjamin, Sr.
NOBA President, 1990-91
NOBA Presidents' Award, 1996
NOBA Maritime Award, 2001

Kim M. Boyle
NOBA President, 2002-03
Presidents' Award, 2007

Walter Carroll, Jr.
NOBA President, 1979-80

Judge Tiffany G. Chase
Pursuant to LASC Rule XLIII
Orleans Parish Civil District Court

Stanley J. Cohn
NOBA President, 2008-09

Mark A. Cunningham
NOBA Board of Directors

Timothy F. Daniels
NOBA President, 2012-13

Brandon E. Davis 
NOBA Board of Directors

John E. Galloway
NOBA & NOBF Professionalism Award, 2013

William B. Gaudet
NOBA Chair, Class Actions & Complex Litigation Committee

Judge Piper D. Griffin
Pursuant to LASC Rule XLIII
Orleans Parish Civil District Court
NOBA YLS Chair, 1992-93

James C. Gulotta, Jr.
NOBA Board of Directors

Helena N. Henderson
NOBA & NOBF Executive Director

Herman, Herman & Katz L.L.C.

Jan M. Hayden
NOBA Board of Directors

Grady S. Hurley
NOBA President, 2001-02
NOBA Inn of Court President, 2003-05
NOBF President, 2006-08

Hyslop Shannon Foundation

Patricia A. Krebs
NOBA President, 2009-10
NOBA Maritime Award, 2009

Charles W. Lane III
NOBA & NOBF Professionalism Award, 2004

Walter J. Leger, Jr.
NOBA President, 2014-15

Michael J. Mestayer
NOBA Inn of Court President, 2006-12

James R. Morton
NOBF President, 2001-04



NOBA Young Lawyers Section

Christopher K. Ralston
NOBA Board of Directors

Deborah B. Rouen
NOBF Board of Directors

Peter E. Sperling
NOBA Board of Directors

Perry R. Staub, Jr.
NOBA President, 2007-08
NOBF President, 2011-14

Monica T. and Mark C. Surprenant
NOBA Presidents' Award 2010
NOBA President, 2013-14
In honor of Helena Henderon's 25th year

Robert P. Thibeaux
NOBA Secretary, Board of Directors,

Judge Sarah S. and R. Patrick Vance
NOBA President, 2011-12

Mr. and Mrs. James Vitkus
In memory of Mark A. Moreau