Presidents' Award

2017 Presidents' Award

The Presidents' Award recognizes New Orleans lawyers for a lifelong commitment to community service in the highest ideals of citizenship. We are pleased to announce that the 2017 recipient of the Presidents' Award is Judy Perry Martinez.


Judy Perry Martinez
2017 Presidents' Award Recipient 







  • active commitment to community
  • service high moral and spiritual standards
  • concern for the social and cultural well-being of all citizens of New Orleans


  • membership in New Orleans Bar Association
  • actively engaged in the practice of law
  • lawyers holding or seeking elective office are ineligible
  • previous recipients are ineligible

Award Presentation

Judy Perry Martinez, Of Counsel at Simon, Peragine, Smith & Redfearn LLP, will be recognized at the Presidents' Award ceremony at the Windsor Court Hotel. 

Previous Recipients

  • R. Patrick Vance, 2016
  • Phillip A. Wittmann, 2015
  • Russ M. Herman, 2014
  • Harry Rosenberg, 2013
  • Leon J. Reymond, Jr., 2012
  • Harry S. Hardin, III, 2011
  • Mark C. Surprenant, 2010
  • Walter J. Leger, Jr., 2009
  • Kim M. Boyle, 2007
  • Evangeline M. Vavrick, 2006
  • Philip deV. Claverie, Sr., 2005
  • Donna D. Fraiche, 2004
  • Wayne J. Lee, 2003
  • Robert B. Acomb, Jr., 2002
  • Gene W. Lafitte, 2001
  • Herschel L. Abbott, Jr., 2000
  • George Denegre, 1999
  • David Conroy, 1998
  • Donald W. Doyle, 1997
  • Jack C. Benjamin, Sr., 1996
  • Arthur J. Waechter, Jr., 1995
  • Moise S. Steeg, Jr., 1994
  • Harry B. Kelleher, 1993
  • Walter M. Barnett, 1992
  • Moise W. Dennery, 1991


The New Orleans Bar Association is currently accepting nominations for the Distinguished Maritime Lawyer Award. This award honors maritime attorneys for their dedication in practicing admiralty law.  
{Nominations must be submitted by August 15, 2017}


To Submit a Nomination

Use the Online Nomination Form

Nominations Deadline

April 30th of each year. Nominations received after the deadline will be considered for the following year’s award.