Distinguished Maritime Lawyer Award

The Distinguished Maritime Lawyer Award honors maritime attorneys for their dedication in practicing admiralty law.

Congratulations to R. Keith Jarrett!
2016 Distinguished Maritime Lawyer Recipient




The New Orleans Bar Association's Maritime and International Law Committee cordially invites you to attend the Distinguished Maritime Lawyer Award Ceremony and Luncheon honoring its 2016 recipient, R. Keith Jarrett.

Luncheon Details

Date: Wednesday, October 26, 2016
Time: 12 Noon
Location: JW Marriott, Ile de France Ballroom, 614 Canal Street, New Orleans, Louisiana
Cost: $50 per person.
RSVP by:

  1. Calling the NOBA Office at 504-525-7453
  2. Email Morgan Ellis
  3. Purchase tickets directly by clicking here

Please note: Cancellations must be received in writing no later than October 24, 2016 to be eligible for a refund minus a $15 administrative fee. No shows will be charged. 

To Submit a Nomination

Use the Online Nomination Form


  • Long-standing member of the Maritime & International Law Committee
  • Highly respected among peers
  • Contributes significantly to the local admiralty bar


  • Membership in the Maritime and International Law Committee and the New Orleans Bar Association
  • Actively engaged in the private practice of law
  • Lawyers holding or seeking elective office are ineligible

Nominations Deadline

August 15th of each year. Nominations received after the deadline will be considered for the following year’s award. Previous recipients are ineligible.

Award Presentation

A luncheon is held to regonize the recipient at the JW Marriott. 

Previous Recipients

  • Benjamin W. Yancey, 1989
  • John W. Sims, 1990
  • Henry J. Read, 1992
  • Brunswick G. Deutsch, 1993
  • Warren M. Faris, 1994
  • George W. Healy III, 1995
  • Robert B. Acomb Jr., 1996
  • Charles E. Lugenbuhl, 1997
  • Samuel C. Gainsburgh, 1998
  • Gerard T. Gelpi, 1999
  • Neal D. Hobson, 2000
  • Jack C. Benjamin, 2001
  • John B. Gooch, Jr., 2002
  • James H. Roussel, 2003
  • William A. Porteous III, 2004
  • A. Gordon Grant, Jr., 2006
  • Donald R. Abaunza, 2008
  • Patricia A. Krebs, 2009
  • Ronald A. Johnson, 2010
  • Glenn G. Goodier, 2011
  • Norman C. Sullivan, Jr., 2012
  • Robert H. Murphy, 2013
  • S. Gene Fendler, 2014
  • Conrad S.P. "Duke" Williams, III, 2015

To submit a nomination, please click here