Return to » Committees

Maritime & International Law


    Hugh P. Lambert, Co-Chair             Jason P. Waguespack, Co-Chair   


Upcoming Events:

Products Liability Issues in Maritime Law CLE



The New Orleans Bar Association's Products Liability and International & Maritime Law Committees are joining forces to present a panel discussion on products liability issues in maritime cases.  Moderated by Cayce Peterson of The Lambert Firm, Billy Swaim of Galloway Johnson Tompkins Burr & Smith and Ian Taylor of Lewis Kullman Sterbcow & Abramson will examine the interplay between these two otherwise distinct practice areas. Included in the discussion will be explanation of the differences between traditional Products Liability codified by each state and Products Liability as an aspect of General Maritime Law, from the perspectives of both the plaintiff and the defendant. For maritime and products lawyers alike, this CLE by two highly skilled lawyers will be a unique opportunity to expand the horizons of your practice. Don't miss out!

Cayce C. Peterson, The Lambert Firm, PLC

Frederick W. Swaim III, Galloway, Johnson, Tompkins, Burr & Smith, APLC
Ian F. Taylor, Lewis, Kullman, Sterbcow & Abramson

Wednesday, May 9, 2018

Noon - 1 p.m.

NOBA Office
650 Poydras Street, Suite 1505
New Orleans, LA 70130

1 hour of CLE credit

NOBA member discount: $35 (includes lunch)
Non-member price: $55 (includes lunch)
*All credit card transactions will be charged a 3% convenience fee.


  1. Contact NOBA at (504) 525-7453 or
  2. Email Liz Daino.
  3. Mail payment to the NOBA Office, 650 Poydras Street, Suite 1505, New Orleans, LA 70130
  4. NOBA members can pay online by clicking here.

Please note our updated cancellation policy:
Payment is expected before the start of programs in order to attend. Cancellations must be received in writing two days in advance in order to receive a refund. No shows are not eligible for refunds and will be charged for the program, plus an administrative billing fee.

Distinguished Maritime Lawyer Award:

Information on the Distinguished Maritime Lawyer Award.  Deadline is August 15th of every year.

August 2016 Blog Post

Recent Events:

On September 23, 2017, Dan Tadros of Chaffe McCall, LLP presented "Civil and Criminal Liability for Maritime Environmental Offenses" CLE.

On March 16, 2017, Milton Ramirez, Deputy U.S. Marshal, Eastern District of Louisiana, presented "Policies and Procedures of the US Marshal for In Rem Arrests and Attachments" CLE.

On October 20, Shaun Clarke, Kerry Miller, and Paul Sterbcow presented "The Deepwater Horizon Litigation: Civil, Criminal & Administrative" CLE.

On October 23, 2015, the Comittee held "A Discussion of the Employer's Maintenance and Cure Obligation" CLE with Paul Sterbcow and Jedd Malish.

On October 16, 2015, NOBA awarded Conrad (Duke) Williams III with the Distinguished Maritime Award.

On November 7, 2014, the Committee held a "Policies and Procedures of the US Marshal for In Rem Arrests and Attachments" CLE. Effective in rem jurisdiction relies on the prompt and proper arrest or attachment of a vessel, cargo, or other property under the Supplemental Admiralty Rules of the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure. A knowledge of the policies and procedures of the U.S. Marshal’s Service in making the arrest or attachment is essential for every admiralty practitioner.  

On November 3, 2014, The New Orleans Bar Association's Maritime and International Law Committee announced the recipient of 2014's Distinguished Maritime Lawyer Award: S. Gene Fendler. Mr. Fendler is a shareholder at Liskow & Lewis and has litigation and trial experiences that span more than 35 years in both casualty and business matters. 

MDL 2179: Status of the Cases Not Included in the BP Settlement CLE on July 31, 2014
with Paul M. Sterbcow, Lewis Kullman

Committee Meeting on January 31, 2014
Paul Sterbcow, Chair, discussed the BP Trial and the most recent 5th Circuirt opinion certifying the class.