Return to » Committees

Insurance Law

Harold J. Flanagan
Committee Chair

Upcoming Events:

Selected Insurance Issues in the Construction Context CLE


Harold Flanagan, Chair of the Insurance Law Committee, and Michael Blackwell, Chair of the Construction Law Commitee, will be co hosting a CLE on June 14th. The seminar will address common issues that arise at the intersection of construction and insurance law, including products completed operations coverage, the professional liability exclusion, whether a construction defect is an occurrence, and consent to settle clauses.

Jimmy A. Castex, Jr., Deutsch Kerrigan, LLP
Harold J. Flanagan, Flanagan Partners LLP

Thursday, June 14, 2018

12 noon - 1 p.m.

NOBA Office
650 Poydras Street, Suite 1505
New Orleans, LA 70130

CLE: 1 hour of CLE credit

NOBA member discount: $35 (includes lunch)
Non-member price: $55 (includes lunch)
*All credit card transactions will be charged a 3% convenience fee


  1. Contact NOBA at (504) 525-7453 
  2. Email Liz Daino
  3. Mail payment to the NOBA Office, 650 Poydras Street, Suite 1505, New Orleans, LA 70130
  4. NOBA members can pay online by clicking here.
    *We accept all credit cards except American Express.

Please note our updated cancellation policy:
Payment is expected before the start of programs in order to attend. Cancellations must be received in writing two days in advance in order to receive a refund. No shows are not eligible for refunds and will be charged for the program, plus an administrative billing fee.

On the Blog:

Punative Damages and Marine Policies - November 20, 2017

The Professional Services Exclusion under Louisiana Law - November 20, 2017

Prejudice Not Required: Giving Notice of a Claim after the Term of a Claims-Made Policy is Fatal for Coverage for the Insured and Third Parties - April 2, 2015

Recent Events:

On May 23rd, NOBA had a happy hour social, co-hosted by the Insurance Law, Maritime & International Law, Oil & Gas Law and Environmental Law committees.

On June 19th, Harold Flanagan, Paul McSweeny, Tony Bordlee and Mike Madden presented a CLE on "Claims Handling: Perspectives of Policyholders, Claimants, and Insurers." 

On September 22, Harold Flanagan, Mike Madden, and Eric Williams presented "The Use and Abuse of Insurance Brokers: How to Deal With Brokers in Business Deals and Litigation" CLE.

On April 13, the Committee held "Deconstructing the Reptile: Defending the 'Reptile' Strategy in Insurance Litigation" with Doug Green.

On July 16, 2015, the Committee held "The Appraisal Clause: Viewpoints from Policyholder and Defense Counsel" CLE with moderator Seth Schmeeckle, panel member (defense) Adam Massey and panel member (policyholder) Rajan Pandit.

On August 8, 2014, the Committee held a CLE "Bad Faith Forum: A Panel Discussion with Views from the Policyholder and Insurer" with speakers: Dean A. Sutherland, Jeansonne & Remondet; H. Minor Pipes, Barrasso Usdin; and Joseph Bruno, Bruno & Bruno.

On April 10, 2014, the committee held a Deepwater Horizon Insurance Litigation CLE.