Return to » Award Nominations

Distinguished Maritime Lawyer Award

Honors maritime attorneys for their dedication in practicing admiralty law.

To Submit a Nomination

Use the Online Nomination Form


  • long-standing member of the Maritime and International Law Committee
  • highly respected among peers
  • contributes significantly to the local admiralty bar


  • membership in the Maritime and International Law Committee and the New Orleans Bar Association
  • actively engaged in the private practice of law
  • lawyers holding or seeking elective office are ineligible
  • previous recipients are ineligible


Deadline August 15th of each year (Nominations received after deadline will be considered for the following year’s award.)

Distinguished Maritime Lawyer Award Ceremony & Luncheon

The New Orleans Bar Association's Maritime and International Law Committee is proud to announce the recipient of this year's Distinguished Maritime Lawyer Award is S. Gene Fendler. Mr. Fendler is a shareholder at Liskow & Lewis and has litigation and trial experiences that span more than 35 years in both casualty and business matters. A ceremony and luncheon will be held to honor this year's recipient on Monday, November 3, 2014.  Click here for details and to register.


Previous Recipients

  • Benjamin W. Yancey, 1989
  • John W. Sims, 1990
  • Henry J. Read, 1992
  • Brunswick G. Deutsch, 1993
  • Warren M. Faris, 1994
  • George W. Healy III, 1995
  • Robert B. Acomb Jr., 1996
  • Charles E. Lugenbuhl, 1997
  • Samuel C. Gainsburgh, 1998
  • Gerard T. Gelpi, 1999
  • Neal D. Hobson, 2000
  • Jack C. Benjamin, 2001
  • John B. Gooch, Jr., 2002
  • James H. Roussel, 2003
  • William A. Porteous III, 2004
  • A. Gordon Grant, Jr., 2006
  • Donald R. Abaunza, 2008
  • Patricia A. Krebs, 2009
  • Ronald A. Johnson, 2010
  • Glenn G. Goodier, 2011
  • Norman C. Sullivan, Jr., 2012
  • Robert H. Murphy, 2013
  • S. Gene Fendler, 2014


To submit a nomination, please click here